nehru trophy boat race alAppuzha kerala

Snake Boat race is stated to be the sport event having the highest number of members in a single team. Usually, a snake boat is manned by four helmsmen, 25 cheerers /singers and 100-125 oarsmen, who row in unison to the fast rhythm of `vanchipattu'or boatmen's song.
The snake-boats, it is said, have its origins in Alappuzha with a history of over 400 years when kings of erstwhile Chempakasseri (Ambalappuzha), Kayamkulam, Thekkumkoor (Changanassery), and Vadakkumkoor (Kottayam) fought battles on these boats in the backwaters of Kuttanad
Nehru trophy boat race 2018



ambalappuzha sree krishna temple

snake boat race schedule 2018

Champakulam moolam boatrace June 28 th 2018

Champakulam moolam boat race july 1st 2015

Evoor samkranthi boat race july 17th 2015

Nehru trophy boat race august 2015

Pachalam boat race August 15th
Champakar boat race august 16 th

Panangad boat race august 23
pullinkunnu boat race august 23 2015
Neeretupuram pamba boat race August 27 2015
Tripayar boat race August 28th 2015

kumarakom kavanar boat race august 29th
payipaad boat race august 29th
kandashakadavu boat race august 29th
kanneti boat race august 30
kumarakom chatyam boat race august 30

karuvatta boat race august 30
aranmula boat race august 31 st 2015
pavaratty boat race august 31st 2015
pallana boat race september 3 rd 2015
kottayam tazhangadi boat race September 5th 2015
thuruthypuram boat race september 6th 2015
kottapuram boat race september 13th 2015
gothuruthu boat race september 20th 2015
north paravoor boat race September 27th 2015
kollam kallada boat race September 27 2015
kollam presidents trophy November 1 2015
Kayamkulam boat race November 5-7 2015
Mother teresa boat race
Chatayam boat race





types of boats

.Chundan vallam( snake boats)
Churulan boats ( vallam)
Odi boats ( vallam)
Veppu boats (vallam)
Photo Gallery Snake boats



snake boat races

.Snake boat racing season schedule 2014 (archive)

champakulam moolam snake boat race 11th july 2014

nehru trophy boat race August 2014
pullinkunnu snake boat race last week of august
September 8th 2014
Chatayam snake boat race september 8th 2014
Malakkara Avittom snakeboat race September 8th 2014

September 9th 2014
payipad snake boat race september 7 8 9 2014

September 10 th 2014
karuvatta snake boat race september 10th 2014
Aranmula uttratathi snake boat race September 10 2014

September 14th 2014
Thazhathangadi boat race 2014 115th edition

pallana kumaran ashan snake boat race 2014

mother teresa memorial snake boat race

mahatma gandhi boat race mannar september 11th 2014
neerattupuram mammen mapillai trophy snake boat race 2014 ( postponed to september 20)

Rajiv Gandhi Trophy Boat Race september 27th 2014

kayamkulam boat race (may not be conducted this year 2014)
President's Trophy Boat Race Novemebr 1 2014


snake boat races schedule 2016

.Champakulam moolam boat race   june 20 2016



Aranmula uttratathi snake boat race

Aranmula uttratathi snake boat race September 10 2014 (archive)

Details of past snake boat races (archive)